Happy Birthday!

I still remember how I felt in this very moment
2 years ago. On the morning of January 31, 2015 I was met with an intense feeling of anxiety and stress, as I was about to set out on a journey whose magnitude I still cannot fathom. However, by the time this picture was taken, I had fallen in love with music yet again, and my body was oozing with copious amounts of joy and excitement.

It was on this day two years ago that a group of friends and I screened 50 and selected 30 young ladies and gentlemen to represent Alma Bryant High School in Category 6 Show Choir.

                                                                                                 It’s crazy to think that

16298923_1609837462400475_2555135008531724068_n
Pardon the blurry photo, but it’s the only one that was taken that day.

at one point we were struggling to get through one number successfully, and now we’re gearing up for our first tour. Just wow.

And in the spirit of celebration and gratitude I would just like to take the time to thank a few people. First, the great friends, both past and present, who saw to it that this program succeeded and continues to succeed. Specifically, Caroline Emma Belue who stepped up and helped me in ways that are truly unimaginable. Second, the gracious Administration at ABHS for taking a chance on me and allowing me to pursue this venture. Thirdly, the choral directors of MCPSS for instilling a drive in me that has yet to die. Fourth, Tyrick Wiltez Jones for showing me that where you’re from, doesn’t limit what you’re capable of. Of course, I can’t forget the parents of my wonderful students, as well as my own mom, for being so lenient and understanding of lengthy and hectic rehearsal schedules. Also, my students from the 2016 and 2017 Choirs who have taught me so much more than I am capable of teaching them. And last, but most definitely not least, Todd and Cherise Hoffman for raising the most honorable and respectful young man whose legacy and memory exceed his short but impactful 17 years. In a world full of darkness, it is he who provides the light that keeps this program from getting lost. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Happy Birthday Cat 6!
Here’s to another year full of success and an undying love for music.

Leave a Reply

